Breakfast| Overnight Oats/Chia Seed Pudding

Breakfast, a meal that eludes us all.

I am sure you know what I’m talking about. Studies have shown two things: 1. A teenager tends to sleep late and 2. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. But because of number one, number two doesn’t always get made, let alone consumed. But now as a fully functioning adult, I had decided that I could no longer stomach the embarrassment of fruitlessly stifling a continuous grumble for the duration of a 3 hour morning lecture. So the decision was made; I had to make and eat a nutritious, filling and quick breakfast.

Heres the recipe:

Overnight Oats: 

Ingredients:

– Rolled Oats
– Almond Milk
– Optional: Vanilla Extract, Cinnamon, Cacao Powder

Instructions:
– In a large bowl, fill 1/2-2/3 full with oats
– At this point in time, add in your optional ingredients (currently I enjoy with a generous amount of cinnamon and a splash of vanilla)
– Add almond milk so that all contents are fully immersed
– Mix thoroughly and then cover with glad wrap and store in fridge.

VOILÀ! It’s that easy. It’s ready to eat the next day! (sidenote: I enjoy mine warm so I add a splash more almond milk and pop into the microwave for 1-2 minutes depending on portion size) And since I’m quite a picky eater, I like mine with some chia seed pudding on the side, and seriously it cannot get easier.

Chia Seed Pudding:
Instructions:
– 
Pour 1 part chia seed and 2 part almond milk into a large bowl
– Cover with gladwrap and let chill in the fridge

And that’s all to it! You can have just oats or pudding for breakfast, but seriously, por que no los dos 🙂 I enjoy mine with a side of Greek Yoghurt or my favourite Almond/Almond/Cacao Spread (melts like buttahh, highly recommend for someone with a sweet tooth) or frozen berries or…you get the point! The options are limitless.
Side note: I buy fresh berries and then I freeze them due to the whole frozen berries containing Hep A business in Australia. It’s not just nature wanting to eradicate us, berries have joined the ranks too! Oh the joy!
Link to Spread: http://www.mayvers.com.au/mayvers-pure-state-almond-coconut-cacao-spread/ (not sponsored, but a girl can dream haha)

This breakfast is seriously delicious and nutritious and the best part of it is, you get seriously full, seriously fast, for a seriously long time. Like for serious (can you tell I’m serious yet?), since this breakfast, my stomach has yet to descend into a black hole of misery during a morning lecture. I’ve NEVER had that happen to me before. That’s 12 years of schooling mockery that could have been avoided right there, ladies and gentleman.

Anyways, to round off this unbearably long-winded post for two very short recipes,
Bon Appétit!

– Deluminous

One thought on “Breakfast| Overnight Oats/Chia Seed Pudding

  1. Pingback: Sunday Sloth | deluminous

Leave a Reply

